All schools in Bau closed effective today until further notice

File photo for illustration purposes. — file pic. // Photo: Pixabay

By Lian Cheng

KUCHING, May 3: All schools in Bau district will be closed effective today until further notice.

This announcement came after the district was classified as a Covid-19 red zone.

Tasik Biru assemblyman Datuk Henry Harry Jinep in a social media post yesterday made the announcement after receiving a message from Bau District Education Officer Charlie Unggang.

“For information, all schools in the Bau district will be closed starting tomorrow, May 3, 2021 until a date to be announced later by the JPN (Sarawak Education Department) following the announcement of this district being classified as the Covid-19 red zone,” said Harry in his Facebook post dated May 2, 2021.

In his post, Harry also included the message he received from Charlie on Sunday (May 2) which stated that “after a long deliberation with Director of Education, decision has now been made that all schools in Bau will be closed as of tomorrow”.

Yesterday, Bau was categorised as a Covid-19 red zone from orange after registering a total of 45 local cases in the last two weeks.

With that, there were 24 districts in Sarawak classified as Covid-19 red zones as of yesterday.

Apart from Bau, the other red zone districts in Sarawak are Sebauh, Sri Aman, Julau, Lundu, Pakan, Song, Tatau, Bukit Mabong, Kanowit, Selangau, Saratok, Subis, Mukah, Sarikei, Beluru, Samarahan, Serian, Meradong, Kuching, Kapit, Bintulu, Miri and Sibu.

The remaining four Covid-19 orange zones are Matu, Belaga, Tanjung Manis and Betong while Kabong, Marudi, Telang Usan, Lawas, Asajaya, Pusa, Dalat, Daro, Lubok Antu, Tebedu and Limbang are the 11 yellow zones aside from Simunjan. — DayakDaily