All divisions in Sarawak except Sibu under CMCO from Jan 18-31

Uggah (centre) delivering the updates on the Covid-19 situation in Sarawak today. Screenshot taken from Sarawak Public Communications Unit (Ukas) live streaming.

By Adrian Lim

KUCHING, Jan 16: All divisions in Sarawak except for Sibu will be imposed with Conditional Movement Control Order (CMCO) from January 18 to January 31.

This was revealed by State Disaster Management Committee (SDMC) chairman Datuk Amar Douglas Uggah Embas during a press conference today.


“After observing and studying the Covid-19 positive situation in Sarawak which has been increasing, SDMC has decided to implement the Movement Control Order (MCO) from January 16 to 29 and CMCO in other divisions in Sarawak.

“It will be effective January 18, 2021, 12:01 am until January 31, 11:59 pm.

“The standard operating procedure (SOP) related to this MCO will be revealed to the public tomorrow (January 17),” he said during a press conference after announcing the situation of the Covid-19 situation in Sarawak today.

Uggah who is also Deputy Chief Minister said the committee has outlined Sarawak into different zones.

He revealed that the zoning will be published on SDMC’s website tomorrow (January 17).

Uggah who is also Second Finance Minister said the Kuching zone is divided into Kuching, Kota Samarahan and Serian.

He added Sri Aman is categorised as one zone while Betong and Sarikei are classified as one zone.

Uggah who is also Modernisation of Agriculture, Native Land and Regional Development Minister said Sibu is categorised as one zone, Bintulu as one zone, Mukah and Kapit as one zone, Limbang and Lawas as one zone.

In Miri, Uggah said there were roadblocks to prevent inter-district travel due to curb the transmission of Covid-19 as some areas were still classified as green zones of Covid-19. —DayakDaily