Abang Johari to announce state BN candidates for GE14 tomorrow

Datuk Patinggi Abang Johari Tun Openg

KUCHING, April 23: State Barisan Nasional (BN) chairman Datuk Patinggi Abang Johari Tun Openg will announce the state BN candidates’ list for the 14th General Election (GE14) tomorrow at Parti Pesaka Bumiputera Bersatu (PBB) headquarters.

The Chief Minister’s Office informed the media of the event in a notice today.

For the upcoming GE14, the state BN is expected to field more than 12 new faces.

Parti Pesaka Bumiputera Bersatu (PBB) which usually aims to have 30 per cent new faces in every election, is expected to field at least three new faces.

Meanwhile, state BN Chinese-based ally, Sarawak United Peoples’ Party (SUPP), is likely to field six new faces in the six urban areas it lost to the opposition in the last general election.

SUPP is traditionally allocated seven parliamentary seats but it lost Bandar Kuching, Stampin, Sarikei, Miri, Sibu and Lanang; only retaining Serian.

Meanwhile, Progressive Democratic Party (PDP) has confirmed that it will field a new face in its allocated seat of Saratok to replace the incumbent Tan Sri William Mawan who is a PBB member.

Parti Rakyat Sarawak (PRS) had on Sunday evening unveiled its candidates. There will be four incumbents, as well as two new faces in Selangau and Lubok Antu respecively. — DayakDaily