5 longhouses, 1 secondary school under 14-day EMCO

Covid-19 file pic

Follow and subscribe to DayakDaily on Telegram for faster news updates.

By Ling Hui

KUCHING, April 29: Five longhouses and one secondary school in Sarawak have been placed under the 14-day EMCO with some under the movement restriction since yesterday (April 28).

This was revealed by State Disaster Management Committee (SDMC) in its Covid-19 statement today.

The committee said Rh Awit at Nanga Mujok, Julau, Rh Papit at Sg Kuap, Nyelong, Sarikei and Rh Adrew at Ulu Pendanum, Pakan have been under lockdown since yesterday and the Enhanced Movement Control Order (EMCO) is only expected to end on May 11.

As for Rh Janting at Lemujan, Pakan and Rh Uming at Sg Mador, Bintangor, Sarikei, the implementation would be from today until May 12.

The same movement restriction has been applied to SMK Melugu in Sri Aman as well with its EMCO expected to end on May 12.

Meanwhile, SDMC announced an extension of EMCO on Rh Naning at Sg Baji, Sarikei from April 30 to May 6.

On the other hand, the 14-day movement restriction orders on the Police Training Centre (Pulapol) in Kuching and Sg Passin in Matu expires today.

This decision was made in view of the second screening results where zero Covid-19 cases were detected and there was also no evidence of contagious infection in the respective areas. — DayakDaily