343 receive scrolls at Unimas’ Commemorative Convocation Ceremony today

Abang Johari (right) presenting a scroll to one of the PhD recipients during the first session of Unimas Commemorative Convocation Ceremony today. (June 27, 2022)

Follow and subscribe to DayakDaily on Telegram for faster news updates.

By Christopher Lidom

KUCHING, June 27: A total of 343 Universiti Malaysia Sarawak (Unimas) graduates receive their scrolls for during the varsity’s Commemorative Convocation Ceremony today.

The first session of the ceremony which was officiated by the Premier of Sarawak who is also the Pro-Chancellor of Unimas, Datuk Patinggi Abang Johari Tun Openg was held at Deawn Tunku Abdul Rahman Putra (DeTAR Putra) of Unimas.

Speaking at the ceremony, Abang Johari stated that graduates are the greatest assets for Sarawak future.

“I am optimistic and confident that armed with future-ready knowledge and skills, as well as values, manners and agility spirits that flow in your young bodies, you will help to realize the future that we all dream of by 2030,” he said.

Abang Johari believed that Unimas would remain committed in developing innovative, ethical and responsible human capital over time.

“In addition, I also have high hopes for the academics of Unimas, to intensify research activities that can have a positive impact on the development of the mind, and the wellbeing of the people in this State,” he added.

The three-day Commemorative Convocation Ceremony (June 27 to 29) is being held to celebrate those graduated in 2020 as convocation ceremony was not allowed due to the Covid-19 pandemic.

Meanwhile, a proclamation ceremony was also held today appointing Datuk Amar Douglas Uggah Embas as the fifth Pro-Chancellor of Unimas by the Premier.

In total, 3,695 graduates receive their scrolls during this commemorative convocation. They included graduates of PhD and Master’s graduates (195), Faculty of Language and Communication (64), Faculty of Engineering (375), Faculty of Cognitive Science and Human Development (425), Faculty of Applied Arts and Creative (318), Faculty of Computer Science and Information Technology (387), Faculty of Science and Resource Technology (471), Faculty of Economics and Business (581), Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences (155) and Faculty of Social Sciences and Humanities (575).

Also presented in the first session were academic awards such as the Royal Education Award, Chancellor’s Award and Pro-Chancellor’s Award. – DayakDaily.