28 localities placed under EMCO, six extended and 10 ended

A police roadblock in place at one of the villages undergoing the EMCO. File Photo

Follow and subscribe to DayakDaily on Telegram for faster news updates.

By Adrian Lim

KUCHING, Aug 30: A total of 28 localities in Belaga, Bintulu, Betong, Sri Aman, Lubok Antu, Julau and Subis have been placed under the Enhanced Movement Control Order (EMCO).

According to the State Disaster Management Committee (SDMC) in a statement today, the EMCO implementation in five longhouses in Sri Aman will be enforced from today (Aug 30) until Sept 12.

For Subis, two longhouses in Niah namely Rh. Patrick Libau and Rh. John Abau, the EMCO will be enforced from today (Aug 30) until Sept 13.

For Julau, the EMCO for two longhouses namely Rh. Jelian and Rh. Muling will be from today (Aug 30) until Sept 15.

For Betong, the EMCO for five longhouses which include Rh. Jepo, Rh. Ganya, Rh. Ulis, Rh. Nyanggau and Rh. William will be implemented from tomorrow (Aug 31) until Sept 13 while the EMCO in another longhouse, Rh. Kamarau from today (Aug 30) until Sept 12.

For Lubok Antu, one longhouse, Rh. Ribon will be under EMCO from tomorrow (Aug 31) to Sept 13 and another longhouse, Rh Tindit from today (Aug 30) until Sept 12.

For Belaga, the EMCO for the quarters of Sekolah Kebangsaan Batu Keling and Block F of Uma Lahanan, Sungai Asap will be from Aug 27 to Sept 9.

In the same district, EMCO for Block F of Uma Balui Liko will be from Aug 28 to Sept 8, workers’ quarters of Syarikat Mexajati Sdn Bhd from Aug 28 to Sept 10, Block G, H, J, K and L of Uma Kulit, Block B, C, J and K of Uma Bakah and Block B of Uma Kelap from Aug 29 to Sept 11.

In Bintulu, the EMCO in one locality namely Taman Bandar Jaya will be from Aug 29 to Sept 11.

In Serian, the EMCO for three villages, Kampung Mundai, Kampung Lintang Baru and Kampung Simpok will be from Sept 1 to 14.

Apart from that, SDMC said the EMCO in six locations which were divided into two locations in Samarahan, two in Serian, one each in Sri Aman and Pusa were extended and are scheduled to last until Sept 16.

Meanwhile, the committee disclosed that EMCO in 10 locations ended today.

They involve Kampung Punan and Kampung Bunuk in Padawan district here, Rh. Usai in Saratok, Kampung Gayau Padok in Simunjan, Rh Randi in Sri Aman, Rh. Pait Awan, Long Dulit U, Rh. Dang Lajang in Belaga and Rh. Jawa, Rh. Bawie in Betong. — DayakDaily