16 districts in Sarawak now red zones after Selangau records 128 cases

KUCHING, April 17: Selangau is now a red zone after reporting a total of 128 infection cases in the past 14 days.

State Disaster Management Committee (SDMC) chairman Datuk Amar Douglas Uggah Embas said with the addition of Selangau into the red zone status today brings the total number of districts with the red zone status to 16 districts.

“Betong and Asajaya also have changed from orange zone status into yellow zone status, after both districts recorded a total of 22 and 21 local infection cases respectively in the past two weeks,” he said.

He added that Bau has reverted to an orange zone from yellow zone status with 12 new infection cases reported in the last fortnight.

At present, the 16 districts currently classified as red zones are namely Selangau, Saratok, Subis, Matu, Mukah, Sarikei, Beluru, Samarahan, Serian, Julau, Meradong, Kuching, Kapit, Bintulu, Miri and Sibu, while eight districts namely Betong, Asajaya, Bukit Mabong, Belaga, Sebauh, Kanowit, Sri Aman and Marudi are orange zones.

Twelve others district namely Bau, Kabong, Dalat, Daro, Lawas, Lubok Antu, Tatau, Tanjung Manis, Song, Pakan, Tebedu, and Limbang are yellow zones, and four districts namely Telang Usan, Lundu, Pusa and Simunjan are currently classified as green zones. — DayakDaily