SUPP ready to contest all seven traditional seats in GE15

Dato Sri Dr Sim Kui Hian (file photo)

By Christopher Lidom

KUCHING, May 21: Sarawak United Peoples’ Party (SUPP) is ready to contest all seven of its traditional seats in the 15th General Election (GE15), said its president Dato Seri Dr Sim Kui Hian.

During today’s SUPP Triennial Delegates Conference (TDC) held at Sa’ati Hall in SUPP headquarters, Dr Sim said that with the ‘situation’ in Kuala Lumpur, it would not be surprising if GE15 is called this year.

“Our Serian MP Dato Seri Richard is forever ready,” he said.

Dr Sim, who is also Deputy Premier of Sarawak, pointed out that GE15 is crucial for Sarawak in demanding its rights.

In December last year, he said, it (Sarawak’s rights) was finally written in black and white in the Federal Constitution under the Premier of Sarawak Datuk Patinggi Tan Sri Abang Johari Tun Openg’s leadership.

“SUPP had been raising issues on MA63 since 2013, and we are in the final miles of getting them,” he added.

SUPP is traditionally allocated seven parliamentary seats: Bandar Kuching, Stampin, Serian, Sarikei, Sibu, Lanang, and Miri.

In the 14th General Election (GE14) in 2018, the party only managed to retain Serian, while Bandar Kuching was won by Dr Kelvin Yii (DAP), Stampin by Chong Chieng Jen (DAP), Sarikei by Wong Ling Biu (DAP), Lanang by Alice Lau (DAP), Sibu by Oscar Ling (DAP), and Miri by Michael Teo (PKR). — DayakDaily