Sibu, Bintulu, Miri, Kapit and Kuching register almost 65 pct of 391 new Covid-19 cases in Sarawak

Covid-19 statistics for Sarawak as at May 6, 2021. Graphics courtesy of SDMC.

By Ling Hui

KUCHING, May 6: The number of Covid-19 cases in Sibu, Bintulu, Miri, Kapit and Kuching reported today represents almost 65 per cent of the 391 new cases in Sarawak.

The State Disaster Management Committee (SDMC) said the five districts in total recorded 252 or 64.45 per cent of the total.

Sibu registered 88 new cases, Bintulu (55), Miri (50), Kapit (33) and Kuching had 26.

The other districts with two-digit increases comprised Selangau with 23, Sri Aman with 19, Smarahan (11), Kanowit (11), Sarikei (10) and Mukah (10).

The remaining 14 districts reporting new Covid-19 cases today were Pakan (8), Julau (7), Subis (6), Serian (6), Meradong (5), Tebedu (5), Bau (4), Sebauh (3), Tatau (3), Song (3), Saratok (2), Betong (1), Daro (1) and Belaga (1).

With that, SDMC said in a statement today, the cumulative number of Covid-19 cases in Sarawak now stands at 33,477.

Of the 391 cases today, 256 cases were detected following close contact screenings where 18 of them were symptomatic and 51 cases were individual screenings from active clusters where none showed signs and symptoms of Covid-19 infections.

There were 48 cases detected via other screenings at health facilities, 35 cases from symptomatic tests in health facilities and one Import-B case returning from another state in Malaysia.

Meanwhile, the committee also reported five new deaths from Covid-19 today, thus increasing the death toll to 195.

With 398 new recoveries reported throughout Sarawak, there are still 6,288 patients who are receiving treatment in various hospitals across Sarawak.

While Sarawak recorded zero new Covid-19 clusters today, the State still has 76 active clusters, with 18 of them registering a total of 69 new cases today.

Tanjung Manis had its Covid-19 zone status changed from orange to yellow zone after recording only 14 local cases in the past 14 days.

As of today, Sarawak has 24 Covid-19 red zones, four orange zones, 12 yellow zones and zero green zones. — DayakDaily