Senator Ahmad Ibrahim first Sarawakian elected vice president of Malaysian Senators Council

Datuk Ahmad Ibrahim

By Nur Ashikin Louis

KUCHING, March 29: Senator Dato Ahmad Ibrahim is the first Sarawakian elected to be the vice president of the Council of Malaysian Senators (MSM).

The 54-year-old will serve alongside the rest of the office bearers for the term 2023 to 2026.

The election was held during MSM’s 10th/11th annual general meeting (AGM) at Parliament building on March 21.

Speaking to DayakDaily, he recounted the moment his name was nominated by fellow Sarawakian senators namely Dato Dr Nuing Jeluing and Datuk Paul Igai, as well as United Malays National Organisation (UMNO) senators.

“I was surprised because I was nominated by them who are more senior than me. When I was nominated, there was no contest.

“In total, there are four seats (contested) which are now occupied by two current senators including me, and two former senators. Thus, it’s an honour for me because I am considered as ‘orang baru’ (newcomer).

“I think the senior senators see potential for somebody from East Malaysia especially from Sarawak and Gabungan Parti Sarawak (GPS) and I am elected because I am one of the six current senators from Sarawak,” he said today.

He also expressed his gratitude to those who supported his induction as MSM’s vice president including the Dewan Negara Speaker Tan Sri Dato Seri Utama Dr Rais Yatim.

Ahmad is the newest addition among six senators from Gabungan Parti Sarawak (GPS) following his appointment by Sarawak State Legislative Assembly (DUN).

The other five are Nuing (appointment by Sarawak DUN), Paul (Progressive Democratic Party – PDP), Robert Lau Hui Yew (Sarawak United Peoples’ Party – SUPP), Rita Sarimah Patrick Insol (Parti Rakyat Sarawak – PRS) and Dr Susan Chemerai Anding (Parti Pesaka Bumiputera Bersatu – PBB).

Apart from the six, there are also three more Sarawakian senators namely Jaziri Alkaf Abdillah Sufian of Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia (Bersatu), Abun Sui Anyit of Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR) and Roderick Wong of Democratic Action Party (DAP).

At the same time, Deputy Premier of Sarawak Dato Sri Dr Sim Kui Hian congratulated Ahmad on his appointment on his Facebook page at 12.33am last night (March 29).

“Heartiest congratulations to YB Senator Dato Ahmad Ibrahim for being the first Sarawakian elected to be the vice president of MSM 2023-2026,” Dr Sim wrote.

Ahmad also holds other posts namely Padawan Municipal Council (MPP) deputy chairman whose term is going to end on March 31, Sarawak Motorsports Association (SMA) incumbent president and Sarawak United National Youth Organisation (SABERKAS) Batu Kitang branch deputy chief. – DayakDaily