Sarawak declares May 17-18 as public holidays

The statement from the CMO declaring May 17 and 18 as additional public holidays.

KUCHING, May 10: The state government has declared May 17-18 as additional public holidays.

According to a statement from the Chief Minister’s Office (CMO) dated May 10, 2018, the declaration was made under Section 5 of the Public Holidays Ordinance [Cap. 8 (1958 Ed.)]

“As such, the public is advised that the 10th and 11th of May 2018 are normal working days,” the CMO said.

In the early hours of today, the federal government declared May 10 dan 11 as additional public holidays in conjunction with the 14th General Election, which saw Pakatan Harapan emerging victorious.

The announcement was made by Chief Secretary to the Government Tan Sri Dr Ali Hamsa. He said for states whose weekends fall on Friday and Saturday, the additional public holiday will fall on Sunday, May 13. — DayakDaily