Sarawak Covid-19 update: 16 new positive cases, 116 new PUI cases

Uggah addressing the press on the latest Covid-19 situation in Sarawak during a press conference at Wisma Bapa Malaysia. Screenshot taken from a broadcast by Sarawak Public Communications Unit (UKAS).

KUCHING, April 16: Sarawak recorded 16 more positive cases of Covid-19 today.

State Disaster Management Committee chairman Datuk Amar Douglas Uggah Embas said the new cases brings the total of Covid-19 cases in Sarawak to 387 since the first case was reported on March 13.

“Out of the 16 cases, 13 cases are being treated at the Sarawak General Hospital (SGH), two cases at Miri Hospital and one in Bintulu Hospital.


“Meanwhile, there are also 116 new cases of Person Under Investigation (PUI) which brings the total number of PUI to date to 3,065 cases.

“Out of that total amount, the results of 2,419 were negative while 49 PUI cases are awaiting laboratory results,” he revealed during a press conference to provide updates on the Covid-19 situation in Sarawak at Wisma Bapa Malaysia here today.

Uggah who is also Deputy Chief Minister observed that there were 59 new PUI cases recorded in Kuching, Serian (16), Miri (16), Samarahan (9), Bau (4), Simunjan (4), Bintulu (4), Lundu (1), Betong (1), Julau (1) and Mukah (1).

The Covid-19 situation in Sarawak as of April 16, 2020.

He noted the compliance rate with the movement control order (MCO) in Sarawak stood at 97 per cent.

However, he disclosed, the police have arrested 142 people for violating the MCO.

Uggah revealed that Serian had the highest number of people arrested with 28 followed by Padawan with 21, Sibu (18), Bintulu (17), Kuching (16), Kota Samarahan (11), Miri (8), Sarikei (7), Limbang (5), Song (4), Sri Aman (2), Betong (2), Meradong (2) and Lundu (1).

He also disclosed that there were 775 people arrested, 733 people being fined and 484 people who have been charged in court for violating the MCO since March 18.

Meanwhile, there were 14 people who returned to Sarawak either from Peninsular Malaysia, Sabah or Labuan yesterday. — DayakDaily