Riot thanks supporters for convincing victory in GE15

Datuk Seri Richard Riot Jaem

KUCHING, Nov 22: Serian MP Datuk Seri Richard Riot Jaem has extended his thanks to his supporters for allowing him to win the seat with a convincing majority of 16,697 votes.

“As Gabungan Parti Sarawak (GPS) candidate, I would like to record my sincere thanks to the 22,876 supporters who voted for me. I would also like to thank our supporters and party workers from GPS component parties namely Parti Pesaka Bumiputera Bersatu (PBB), Sarawak United Peoples’ Party (SUPP), Parti Rakyat Sarawak (PRS) and Progressive Democratic Party (PDP), community leaders, NGOs, individuals and all those who have in one way of another,” Riot said in a statement issued here today.

He also thanked the three assemblymen under P199 Serian parliamentary constituency namely Kedup assemblyman Martin Ben, Bukit Semuja Assemblyman John Ilus and Tebdu assemblyman Dr Simon Sindang Bada.


“I promised to carry our my duties diligently to further develop Serian to greater heights,” he pledged.

Riot, who is also SUPP deputy president, won the seat in a four-cornered fight against three other candidates namely Independent Dr Alim Impira, Parti Sarawak Bersatu’s (PSB) Elsiy Tingang, and Democratic Action Party’s (DAP) Learry Jabol.

In GE14, Riot won P199 Serian in a three-cornered fight with a majority of 9,905 votes. — DayakDaily