Uggah: Reopening of schools in three districts postponed to Aug 3

Uggah speaking at Sarawak Covid-19 update press conference. Photo credit: Sarawak Public Communications Unit (Ukas)

Versi Iban:

KUCHING, July 14: The reopening of 138 primary and secondary schools in Kuching, Padawan and Kota Samarahan districts have been postponed to Aug 3.

Sarawak Disaster Management Committee (SDMC) chairman Datuk Amar Douglas Uggah said this was based on advice from the Sarawak Health Department, National Security Council Sarawak and mutual agreement between all parties involved including the Sarawak Education Department.

“The reopening of secondary and primary schools in these three districts which was scheduled for July 15 will be postponed to Aug 3.

“This involves transition classes, Form 1, 2, 3, 4 and 6, and Primary 1, 2, 3 and 4,” Uggah said at a press conference today.

Of the 138 schools affected, 87 are from Kuching, 48 in Padawan and three in Samarahan.

As for preschools, kindergarten, Form 5 and Upper Form 6 classes, Uggah said school sessions will continue as usual.

“We had a lengthy meeting this morning and the decision was made following the increase of Covid-19 cases in Kuching over the past few days.”

Meanwhile, schools in other Covid-19 green districts will begin as scheduled on July 15. — DayakDaily