Raghad, three Sarawakian deputy ministers receive awards in conjunction with Federal Territory Day

Ragad (right), Ali (top left), Willie (below, left) and Hasbi (below, centre).

By Adrian Lim

KUCHING, Feb 1: Sarawak governor Tun Abdul Taib Mahmud’s wife, Toh Puan Datuk Patinggi Raghad Kurdi Taib heads the list of honour recipients from Sarawak in conjunction with Federal Territory Day today.

Raghad was bestowed with the Seri Utama Mahkota Wilayah award which carries the title “Datuk Seri Utama”.

Six people received the Seri Utama Mahkota Wilayah award, comprising Penang Yang di-Pertua Negri Tun Abdul Rahman Abbas, Sabah Yang di-Pertua Negeri Tun Juhar Mahiruddin, Raghad, Yang di-Pertua Negri Melaka Tun Mohd Ali Mohd Rustam, Finance Minister Tengku Datuk Seri Zafrul Tengku Abdul Aziz and Pahang Mentri Besar Datuk Seri Wan Rosdy Wan Ismail.

Raghad and three deputy ministers from Sarawak were among the 335 award recipients in conjunction with the Federal Territory Day celebration this year.

The deputy ministers are Deputy Energy and Natural Resources Minister Datuk Ali Biju, Deputy Plantation Industries and Commodities Minister II Datuk Willie Mongin and Deputy Transport Minister Datuk Hasbi Habibollah who received the title Panglima Mahkota Wilayah which carries the title “Datuk”.

Commenting on the award, Ali in a press statement said: “The award from DYMM SPYDP Agong is indeed an honour which I gracefully accept with the deepest humility.

“I am grateful to His Majesty for consenting to making this special conferment.

“I would also like to offer my sincere thanks to my senior leadership and to the rakyat who have been with me through thick and thin.

“This award is yet another great motivation for me personally to work even harder for my nation and for the rakyat.

“I pledge to not let His Majesty nor my senior leaders nor the rakyat down as I carry this gracious title,” Ali who is also the Saratok MP said.

Another recipient of the Panglima Mahkota Wilayah award is Urban Development and Resources Sarawak officer Datuk Mazlan Mohamad Salleh.

Meanwhile, Energy and Natural Resources Minister Datuk Dr Shamsul Anuar Nasarah and Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department (Parliament and Law) Datuk Takiyuddin Hassan were conferred the “Datuk Seri” title.

Other ministers who received awards include Education Minister Datuk Mohd Radzi Md Jidin and Housing and Local Government Minister Datuk Zuraida Kamarudin who received the “Datuk” title.

The announcement of the awards was made by Federal Territories Minister Tan Sri Annuar Musa at an online press conference. He disclosed that the award presentation ceremony would be held at a later date but the awards were effective today (Feb 1). — DayakDaily