PSB is part and parcel of Pakatan Harapan, asserts Masing

Tan Sri Dr James Jemut Masing

KUCHING, Dec 21: It is now undeniably proven that Parti Sarawak Bersatu (PSB) is part of Pakatan Harapan (PH), said Parti Rakyat Sarawak (PRS) president Tan Sri Dr James Jemut Masing.

Masing said Sarawak DAP chairman Chong Chieng Jen’s statement today, that the opposition pact in Sarawak was to provide check and balance, was an acknowledgement by DAP that GPS will continue to administer the state after 12th state election (PRN12).

“Secondly, DAP will work hand in hand with PSB comes PRN12, even though PSB denied otherwise. And indeed, PSB is part and parcel of Pakatan Harapan, undeniable,” Masing said in a statement issued here today.

Masing was commenting on Chong’s announcement that Sarawak DAP will partner with PSB in PRN12 with the goal of emerging as a stronger opposition.

On seat distribution, Chong said, talks are currently ongoing with the other opposition party to avoid overlapping claims and the talks are led by six-term Bawang Assan state assemblyman, Datuk Seri Wong Soon Koh.

“Our goal is to strengthen the opposition in its role as a check and balance to the state government. It is important for us to have a stronger opposition now than before, following the increase in resources. Our state revenue increased to RM10 billion today, compared with RM4 billion 10 years ago, thus a sound check and balance mechanism must be in place,” Chong was quoted as saying.

The Sarawak chapter of PH and PSB, which previously joined forces during the last State Legislative Assembly Sitting, had opposed the definition of “resident in the state” due to the ambiguity in the amendment in the Sarawak State Constitutional Amendment Bill, although they agreed to lower the age of those seeking to contest in a state election from 21 to 18.

However, PKR has been lukewarm towards DAP’s cooperation with PSB, after it accepted defecting PKR lawmakers as members, and openly announced that it would contest the seats won by these lawmakers under PKR’s ticket.

PKR has publicly vowed to reclaim the seats won by its defecting lawmakers, namely Selangau MP and Ba’kelalan assemblyperson Baru Bian and Batu Lintang assemblyman See Chee How.

Several others who exited the party for Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia (Bersatu) are Saratok MP and Krian assemblyman Ali Biju and Puncak Borneo MP Willie Mongin. — DayakDaily