PRS Belaga want Wilson Ugak to defend Hulu Rajang in GE15

Parti Rakyat Sarawak logo.

Follow and subscribe to DayakDaily on Telegram for faster news updates.

BELAGA, March 19: Parti Rakyat Sarawak (PRS) Belaga division want Datuk Wilson Ugak Kumbong to defend his Hulu Rajang parliamentary seat in the 15th General Election (GE15).

PRS Belaga division chief Datuk Liwan Lagang said this resolution was among the decisions reached during its annual general meeting (AGM), which will be raised at the party’s forthcoming triennial delegates conference (TDC).

“The TDC is scheduled to be held from April 23 to 24 in Sibu, while the Youth Wing and Women Wing will hold theirs on April 23,” he said in a news report by Sarawak Public Communications Unit (Ukas) on Friday.

Ugak is a second-term MP for Hulu Rajang. He was elected to Parliament in the 13th General Election (GE13) in 2013, replacing long-serving incumbent Billy Abit Joo. He was re-elected in the 14th General Election (GE14) in 2018 after defeating Abun Sui Anyit from Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR).

The PRS Belaga Division AGM, which took place at the Belaga service centre on Thursday, was conducted simultaneously among its three wings.

Liwan, who is also Deputy Minister of Telecommunications and Belaga assemblyman, took the opportunity to thank all parties involved who had worked hard in making the 12th Sarawak Election in December a success.

“Everyone has done a great job and was willing to campaign, including through social media,” he commended.

PRS has traditionally been allocated six parliamentary seats — Sri Aman, Kanowit, Hulu Rajang, Selangau, Julau and Lubok Antu.

During GE14, PRS retained Sri Aman, Kanowit and Hulu Rajang. However, on March 7, 2019, Sri Aman MP Datuk Masir Kujat left PRS to join Parti Sarawak Bersatu (PSB). — DayakDaily