Pol-sec to Sarawak Premier, Michael Mujah Lihan, elected as new Senator replacing Dr Nuing Jeluing

Michael Mujah Lihan (file photo)

By Ashley Sim

KUCHING, Nov 21: Political secretary to Sarawak Premier, Michael Mujah Lihan, has been elected as the new Senator to replace Dr Nuing Jeluing.

Mujah was nominated by Deputy Premier of Sarawak Datuk Amar Douglas Uggah Embas and was seconded by Deputy Premier of Sarawak Datuk Amar Awang Tengah Ali Hasan during the State Legislative Assembly (DUN) sitting held at the DUN complex today.

Mujah, according to Uggah, is 61-years old-and was born on Oct 6, 1962 in Belaga, Sarawak.

“He has extensive experience in administration and politics. For the record, he is a Diploma in Public Administration graduate from MARA University of Technology, Kota Kinabalu, Sabah.

“He has served as political secretary to YAB Premier Sarawak from 2016 until now. He was the PBB (Parti Pesaka Bumiputera Bersatu Sarawak) N57 Belaga chairman from 2009 until 2016. Now, he is the head of PBB branch N66 Murum from the year 2016 until now.

“In addition, he was once a member of the PBB Supreme Council from 2010 until 2022. He is also active in various non-governmental organisations (NGOs) including as executive committee member of the Federation Of Orang Ulu Associations Sarawak Malaysia (Forum) and deputy president of the Orang Ulu National Association (OUNA),” he explained.

Meanwhile, Mujah told reporters after being elected as the new Senator that he is overjoyed with the appointment and thanked the State government, particularly Sarawak Premier Datuk Patinggi Tan Sri Abang Johari Tun Openg.

“I (will) work hard in the new post. The Belaga people are so happy. At least I am given the chance to become the Senator for Belaga. Thanks a lot to the government for entrusting me with the position of Senator,” he said.

He also revealed that this is his seventh year as a political secretary to the Premier, and that he has now been appointed as a Senator.

For the record, Dr Nuing’s second term of service as Senator ended on Dec 10, 2023. — DayakDaily