PKR Sarawak ‘unperturbed’ by PSB going solo in upcoming state elections

Datuk Larry Sng

By Lian Cheng

KUCHING, June 2: PKR Sarawak is unperturbed by PSB going solo in the coming Sarawak election.

Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR) Sarawak chief Larry Sng believes that the success of a party is not determined by the number of seats it holds but rather by how well it can protect the interests of the people.

“We are not too concerned right now as the party is always prepared to contest elections in multi-cornered fights.

“Our success is not solely determined by winning seats but by upholding principles and protecting the interests of the people by addressing inequalities and wrongdoings of the ruling government.

“By providing a platform during elections, we give voters the choice to express their will and represent them in DUN (Sarawak Legislative Assembly,” Sng told DayakDaily.

He was responding to the recent statement by Parti Sarawak Bersatu (PSB) president Datuk Seri Wong Soon Koh announcing that the party will contest in the next Sarawak state election on its own.

He revealed the party had identified candidates for 65 state seats (as of May 30) and it is poised to contest in all 82 state seats if it could identify the right candidates.

Among the seats which PSB has announced it will contest are Opar, Tasik Biru, Balai Ringin, Marudi, Tamin, Dudong, Bawang Assan, Engkilili, Batang Ai, Lingga and Simanggang.

For Sng, PKR will proceed with seat negotiation with Democratic Action Party (DAP) and Parti Amanah Negara (Amanah) in preparation for the state election.

Prior to Wong’s announcement, there were speculations that PSB may join forces with Sarawak Pakatan Harapan (PH) which consists of PKR, DAP and Amanah.

The speculation was confirmed by Wong on May 30 during a press conference when former PKR chief Baru Bian and his deputy See Chee How officially joined PSB.

However, on May 31, Wong issued a statement saying that he would not join forces with any party as it will contest in the upcoming state election as a local opposition party.

Apart from PSB, the ruling coalition of Gabungan Parti Sarawak (GPS) comprising Parti Pesaka Bumiputera Bersatu (PBB), Sarawak United Peoples’ Party (SUPP), Parti Rakyat Sarawak (PRS) and Progressive Democratic Party (PDP) is expected to face the PH pact and other local parties including Parti Bumi Kenyalang (PBK) and Sarawak People’s Aspiration Party (Aspirasi).

Based on the expressed interest of many locally based opposition parties to contest, it is expected that there will be at least three-cornered fights in all 82 state seats. — DayakDaily