Phase 3 of Sarawak’s Covid-19 vaccination drive takes off today

Uggah (right) inspecting the Serian community hall vaccination centre. Also seen is Dr Sim (in yellow shirt).

SERIAN, June 22: Phase three of Sarawak’s Covid-19 Immunisation Programme which covers all those aged 18 and above kicked off today.

Sarawak Disaster Management Committee (SDMC) chairman Datuk Amar Douglas Uggah Embas pointed out that everyone eligible for vaccination from 18 years of age can now go for jabs based on their appointments.

“From today onwards, there will be no more phases. Everyone can now go for the jabs based on their appointments,” he told the media today after visiting the vaccination centre (PPV) at the Serian community hall here.

Sarawak’s first phase of vaccination rolled out on Feb 26 for frontliners, which was followed by the second phase for senior citizens aged 60 years and above as well as those in high-risk groups and people with disabilities.

In the rural or interior areas, Uggah who is also Deputy Chief Minister explained, Sarawak has not been using the phase system as such arrangement would be besieged by problems.

“The response from Sarawakians toward the vaccination programme has been very encouraging so far.

“This is a very positive development in our efforts to protect everyone against Covid-19,” he said.

Uggah (in black mask) speaking to an officer during his visit to the Serian community hall vaccination centre.

To date, a total of 855,749 people have been vaccinated with Sarawak achieving the highest daily vaccination rate of 59,225 doses yesterday (June 21) alone, out of which 56,975 received their first dose.

Uggah revealed 2,600 people have been vaccinated in Serian Division, with a target of 2,800 doses daily.

“The vaccination centre at Serian community hall vaccinated 1,000 people today which has met its target,” he added.

Earlier, Uggah was briefed about the Serian community hall immunisation operations by its doctor-in-charge Dr Edmund Sim.

Minister for Local Government and Housing Dato Sri Dr Sim Kui Hian, Serian MP Dato Sri Richard Riot, Bukit Semuja assemblyman John Ilus and Deputy State Secretary Datu Ik Pahon were among those present. — DayakDaily