Pageant winners crowned at Miri Division Gawai Dayak celebration

Uggah (standing fifth from left) posing for a group photo with the winners and other guests.

Follow and subscribe to DayakDaily on Telegram for faster news updates.

By Brad Rantayy

MIRI, May 26: The 15th edition of the Miri Division Gawai Dayak celebration on Saturday night saw the crowning of pageant winners across four categories.

There was a total of 24 finalists vying for titles in the ‘Keling/Belawan’, ‘Dayung Sangon’, ‘Kumang’ and ‘Keligit’ categories.

The guest-of-honour at the grand finale was Deputy Chief Minister Datuk Amar Douglas Uggah Embas.

For the ‘Keling/Belawan’ category, Emmanuel Paang Jalong, 19, a Kelabit from Long Sobeng, emerged champion ahead of five other contestants.

Second place went to Nicholas Kudi, and third to Eliazer Puret El Loter.

Henry Jita, Alexander Kuleh and Paul Laing received subsidiary titles in this category.

In the ‘Dayung Sangon’ category, a 25-year-old lass from Padawan, Lydia Hyginus, clinched the title, edging out five other contestants.

First runner-up position went to a 22-year-old Bau lass, Jemina Fae James, while Anastasia Napoleon, 20, captured the second runner-up position.

Daisy Nyoel, Ketty Freddy and Quyyns Evysia Waysia received subsidiary titles in this category.

Meanwhile, in the ‘Kumang’ category, 19-year-old, Tasha Jenkins Likan Siti was crowned as the winner, ahead of Natasha Shareen Pita as first runner-up and Nicole Goldy as second runner-up.

Subsidiary titles in this category went to Ellis Gawing, Winnie and Jill Genagan.

In the ‘Keligit’ category, Sharon Ubung, 25, from Long Atip, was crowned winner, while Magdeline Story and Cendida Gadung Jok came in as first and second runners-up respectively.

Brenda Bulan Nelson, Irena Apui and Sarah Nasthia received subsidiary titles.

All winners in each category (champion, first and second runners-up) received scholarships, skincare products and a bouquet of flowers. — DayakDaily