Nyabong in five-cornered battle in Pelagus

Solomon (left), Moses (second left), Nyuak (third left), Nyabong (third right) and Nyambong (right) pose for a photo after submitting their nomination papers.

Follow and subscribe to DayakDaily on Telegram for faster news updates.

KUCHING, Dec 6: The N61 Pelagus seat will witness a five-cornered fight in the 12th Sarawak Election on Dec 18.

Pelagus incumbent Wilson Nyabong Ijang from Gabungan Parti Sarawak (GPS) will be up against Kristoffer Nyuak from Parti Sarawak Bersatu (PSB), Solomon Kumbong from Democratic Action Party (DAP), Moses Ripai from Parti Bansa Dayak Sarawak Baru (PBDSB) and Nyambong Sibat from Parti Bumi Kenyalang (PBK).

Nyabong will be contesting for the second time in the 12th Sarawak Election.

Nyabong, who contested in the 11th Sarawak Election in 2016 for the first time, had defeated Yong Sibat from DAP and Jeffery Nuing Ebom who contested as an independent.

Nyabong garnered 3,778 votes against Yong and Jeffery who received 494 votes and 321 votes respectively.

According to information from the Election Commission (EC), there are 7,894 registered voters in the Pelagus constituency as of Nov 2. — DayakDaily