Ng Lijan, Univista and Kidurong Dua clusters end as Covid-19 situation in Asajaya, Subis improve

Covid-19 file pic

By Adrian Lim

KUCHING, March 23: The Nanga Lijan Cluster in Julau, Univista Cluster in Samarahan and Kidurong Dua Cluster in Bintulu have been declared ended by the State Health Department today.

The three clusters did not report new Covid-19 infections in the past 28 days.

According to a press statement from the State Disaster Management Committee (SDMC), there are 31 clusters which are still active in Sarawak, with nine clusters registering a total of 26 new cases today.

The new cases from the nine clusters were from Jalan Tanjung Cluster (6) in Bintulu, Jalan Sanyan Cluster (5) in Sibu, Jalan Merpati Cluster (4) in Miri, Jalan Awang Cluster (3), Jalan Muhibbah Cluster (2) in Betong, Jalan Kampung Hilir (2) in Sibu, Nangga Bulo Cluster (2) in Song, Gelong Cluster (1) in Kapit and the Tanjung Genting Cluster (1) in Meradong.

Meanwhile, the Covid-19 situation in Asajaya and Subis districts has improved.

SDMC said Asajaya has returned to Covid-19 green zone status after reporting zero new local infections in the past 14 days.

Subis has eased into orange zone status from red after cumulative cases declined to 29 in the past fortnight.

In the meantime, 12 districts remain classified as red zones.

They are Samarahan, Sri Aman, Song, Serian, Julau, Betong, Meradong, Kuching, Kapit, Bintulu, Miri and Sibu which reported a cumulative total of 2,480 cases in the past two weeks.

Fifteen districts are categorised as yellow zones, comprising Bau, Mukah, Selangau, Dalat, Limbang, Telang Usan, Tanjung Manis, Kanowit, Belaga, Lundu, Bukit Mabong, Tatau, Pusa, Saratok and Sebauh which reported a total of 114 local infections over the same period. — DayakDaily