New Covid-19 clusters emerge in Serian’s Kg Simpok with 102 cases, Limbang’s Kg Merajang with 25 cases

File photo for illustration purposes. Photo credit: Pixabay

Follow and subscribe to DayakDaily on Telegram for faster news updates.

KUCHING, Aug 28: A cluster of 102 positive Covid-19 cases has been confirmed among residents of Kampung Simpok in Serian here today.

State Disaster Management Committee (SDMC), in its daily updates on Covid-19 situation in Sarawak, reported that of the cases recorded in the newly declared Kampung Simpok Cluster, nine were detected today.

A total of 150 individuals have been screened, whereby 48 have tested negative and no one was waiting for lab test results.

All the cases have been either admitted to Serian Hospital or the Quarantine and Low-Risk Treatment Centre (PKRC) Serian for treatment and isolation.

Another new community cluster was also identified in Limbang dubbed the Merajang Cluster which involved residents of a longhouse located at Kampung Merajang with 25 positive cases.

Of the cases, 20 of them were detected today.

A total of 74 individuals have been screened, whereby 49 have tested negative and no one was waiting for lab test results.

All the cases have either been admitted to Limbang Hospital or the PKRC Limbang for treatment and isolation.

In fact, Sarawak declared six new clusters. The other four was identified at Beluru (Ladang Hijau 01 Cluster with 19 cases), Mukah (Bandar Baru Mukah Cluster with 52 cases), while two in Kuching dubbed Kampung Batu Kitang Jaya with 27 cases and Jalan Kilang Pending with 69 cases.

SDMC also declared the end of Jalan Sungai Tapang Cluster in Kuching, after no local cases were reported in the last 28 days.

With that, the number of active clusters in Sarawak has increased to 131, out of which 25 clusters registered an increase in daily infections with a total of 300 cases contributed to today’s caseload.

They are Kampung Sungai Duuh Cluster which added 75 more cases; Bungey 2 Cluster (43 cases); new Merajang Cluster (20 cases); Se-Menyan Cluster (19 cases); Mapu Cluster and Lorong Teruntum Cluster (15 cases each); new Ladang Hijau 01 Cluster (14 cases); Mundai Cluster and Kampung Quop Cluster (13 cases each); Duras Cluster (12 cases); new Kampung Simpok Cluster (9 cases); Plaman Batang Cluster (8 cases); Long Urun Cluster and Kampung Lintang Baru Cluster (7 cases each); KM20 Jalan Betong Cluster (5 cases); Lorong Cahaya Damai Cluster and Kampung Bintawa Hilir Cluster (4 cases each); Kampung Muara Tebas 2 Cluster, Mas Sawai Cluster and Sungai Penyarai Cluster (3 cases each); Nanga Pelugau Cluster, Kampung Paya Mebi Cluster and Sibuluh-Nawong Cluster (2 cases each); while Jalan Hulu Engkamop Cluster and Tanjung Kibong 2 Cluster has one case each.— DayakDaily