New Covid-19 cases in Sarawak declines for second consecutive day, down to 694

An infographic showing the summary of the Covid-19 situation in Sarawak as of Oct 18, 2021. Source: Sarawak Disaster Information.

KUCHING, Oct 18: Sarawak’s daily Covid-19 case count declined for the second consecutive day with 694 cases reported today compared to 730 cases yesterday. On Oct 16, Sarawak reported 1,055 Covid-19 cases.

According to the daily update of the Covid-19 situation in Sarawak by the Sarawak Disaster Management Committee (SDMC), 5.48 per cent or 38 cases out of the 694 new cases today were classified in Categories Three, Four and Five while the balance of 94.52 per cent or 656 cases were in Categories One and Two.

The cumulative number of confirmed coronavirus cases in the State now stands to 232,224.


SDMC said 13 Covid-19 patients were intubated and 11 Covid-19 patients required breathing support.

There were 466 Covid-19 patients with mild symptoms and 190 were asymptomatic.

As for the distribution of new Covid-19 cases by district across the Sarawak, 35 out of 40 districts reported new cases.

Kuching and Miri recorded triple-digit gains with 187 and 139 new cases respectively.

Districts which registered double-digit case counts comprised Sibu with 88 cases, Bintulu (32), Lawas (29), Limbang (26), Saratok (23), Mukah (23), Serian (18), Pusa (18), Sarikei (14), Daro (13) and Kapit (11).

Districts which reported single-digit case counts were Sri Aman with nine cases, Betong (7), Simunjan (7), Bau (7), Lubok Antu (6), Samarahan (5), Kanowit (4), Pakan (4), Dalat (2), Matu (2), Subis (2), Beluru (2), Meradong (2), Julau (2), Selangau (2), Bukit Mabong (2), Tebedu (2), Sebauh (2), Lundu (1), Kabong (1), Belaga (1) and Marudi (1).

Five districts, namely Tatau, Song, Asajaya, Telang Usan and Tanjung Manis, recorded zero Covid-19 cases.

On another note, 13 new Covid-19 deaths reported in Sarawak today has pushed the State’s Covid-19 death toll to 1,112.

Apart from that, there were no new Covid-19 clusters reported while eight active clusters were declared ended.

They are the Plaman Bantang Cluster (Serian), Belinggai Ulu Niah Cluster (Subis), SEPOM Cluster (Serian), Pulau Brunei Cluster (Limbang), Sungai Separai 2 Cluster (Tatau), Jalan Bintulu-Miri 3 Cluster (Bintulu), Ulu Lubai Cluster (Limbang) and Jalan P. Ramlee Cluster (Kuching).

With this, there are currently 45 active clusters of Covid-19 in Sarawak, of which four clusters registered six new cases today.

They comprise the Putai 2 Cluster with two cases, Menuang Cluster (2), Long Urun Cluster (1) and Pinang Jawa Cluster (1). — DayakDaily