Naroden: GPS under Abang Jo won over 90 pct of seats, greater success rate than Mahathir, Adenan

Naroden commends Abang Johari during his speech tonight (May 29, 2022) at the event in Gedong. Screenshot taken from a Sarawak Public Communications Facebook livestream.

By Ashley Sim

KUCHING, May 29: Former Gedong assemblyman Datuk Mohd Naroden Majais commended Sarawak Premier Datuk Patinggi Tan Sri Abang Johari Tun Openg for winning more than 90 per cent of the seats in the 12th Sarawak Election (PRN12) for Gabungan Parti Sarawak (GPS), surpassing election results under Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad and the late Pehin Sri Adenan Satem when they were Prime Minister and Sarawak Chief Minister, respectively.

According to Naroden, Abang Johari’s landslide victory for GPS in PRN12 is one of the best in the country’s history.

“This clearly shows the confidence of the people of Sarawak in the GPS government under the leadership of Abang Johari,” he said tonight at the Gedong district-level Mantar Gawai celebration in Gedong.

He said that the people of Gedong are grateful to Abang Johari for elevating the Gedong constituency from “kampung” status to district status, on par with Simunjan, Serian, Lundu, and other districts.

“Gedong, as a district, will have its own administrative centre.

“Gedong will also have government agencies such as agriculture, welfare care, a police station, a fire station, the Gedong district council, and the post office, among others.

“This is so that our Gedong district residents can benefit from services and assistance provided by our own district,” he stated.

Naroden also pointed out that tracts of land in Gedong could be developed for modern agriculture in accordance with other Sarawak agropark concepts.

He noted that Abang Johari will bring a laboratory to Gedong, which is managed by Swinburne University Sarawak Campus or Universiti Malaysia Sarawak (Unimas), so that the laboratory can assist farmers in increasing their land utilisation through the use of new methods.

Also present were Federal Tourism, Arts, and Culture Minister Dato Sri Nancy Shukri, Deputy Minister for Infrastructure and Port Development-cum-Sadong Jaya assemblyman Aidel Lariwoo, Simunjan assemblyman Awla Dris, Tupong assemblyman-cum-chief political secretary to the Premier, Fazzrudin Abdul Rahman, and Deputy State Secretary (Socio-Economic Transformation) Dato Sri Mohamad Abu Bakar Marzuki. — DayakDaily