Motion to remove Dewan Rakyat Speaker approved with 111 vs 109

Parliament House

By Adrian Lim

KUALA LUMPUR, July 13: The motion to remove Dewan Rakyat Speaker Tan Sri Mohamad Ariff Md Yusoff was passed with a simple majority of 111 votes against 109 votes.

The results of the voting was disclosed by Dewan Rakyat Deputy Speaker I Datuk Mohd Rashid Hasnon during the morning session of the Second Meeting of the Third Session of Fourteenth Parliament Sitting.

He said one MP did not attend the Parliament sitting while one MP’s vote was not accounted for.

The motion was put up by Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin who said the Speaker has to vacate his position as he has nominated a candidate for the post.

Meanwhile, it was reported that Mohamad Ariff and his deputy Nga Kor Ming have resigned as the Dewan Rakyat Speaker and Deputy Speaker respectively this afternoon.

They were replaced by Datuk Azhar Azizan Harun who was formerly the Election Commission (EC) chairman and Pengerang MP Datuk Seri Azalina Othman Said as the new Deputy Speaker. -DayakDaily