Miri, Sibu, Bintulu among 18 districts in S’wak issued thunderstorm warning until 8pm (July 6)

The advisory notice issued by MetMalaysia at 4.45pm on July 6, 2024.

By DayakDaily Team

KUCHING, July 6: Miri, Sibu, and Bintulu were among 18 districts in Sarawak that were issued thunderstorm warnings until 8pm today.

According to the Malaysian Meteorological Department (MetMalaysia), in an advisory notice issued at 4.45pm, the affected districts are Betong, Sarikei, Pakan, Meradong, Selangau, Mukah, Tanjung Manis, Daro, Kapit, Belaga, Tatau, Sebauh, Beluru, Marudi and Limbang.


The department said expected weather conditions include heavy rain and strong winds.

A thunderstorm warning is issued when signs indicate a storm with rain intensity greater than 20mm/hour is approaching or expected to last for more than an hour. This warning is short-term and valid for a maximum of six hours per release. — DayakDaily