Miri, Sibu and Kapit now Covid-19 yellow zones

Covid-19 file pic

By Ling Hui

KUCHING, Jan 3: Miri, Sibu and Kapit are the latest additions to the growing squad of Covid-19 yellow zones in Sarawak today, on top of Kuching, Meradong, Bintulu and Lawas.

The State Disaster Management Committee (SDMC) in a statement revealed the three districts were declared yellow zones after three new local transmission cases were detected in Miri, two cases in Sibu and one in Kapit.

This was unfortunate news for Sibu as it had regained its green status only yesterday (Jan 2) after being clear of local transmission cases for the previous 14 days.

Kuching, Meradong, Bintulu and Lawas remain as yellow zones, with six cases in Kuching, three in Meradong, two in Bintulu and one in Lawas.

Meanwhile, a new cluster called the Stutong Cluster was declared in Kuching as two new Covid-19 cases were reported today, in relation to Case 1,119.

SMDC said, to-date, there are a total of five cases including the index case in the cluster.

Fifty-one individuals have been swabbed, with five cases positive, 24 individuals negative and the remaining 22 individuals still awaiting laboratory test results.

The two new positive cases related to the Stutong Cluster are contacts and co-workers with the index case who was reported on Jan 1, involving a local woman who works as an insurance agent.

With this new Stutong Cluster today, there are now two active clusters in Sarawak. The first is the Mador Cluster which was only declared yesterday with a total of eight cases. — DayakDaily