Miri Division Gawai Celebration 2024 beauty pageant: 24 out of 41 participants advance to finals

The 24 finalists of the Miri Division Gawai Celebration 2024 beauty pageant.

By Tedong Rantayy

MIRI, May 19: Twenty-four participants were selected from 41 to advance to the final round of the Miri Division Gawai Celebration 2024 beauty pageant.

The semi-finals of the pageant was held yesterday (May 18) and was officiated by Miri mayor Adam Yii Siew Sang, who pledged a grant of RM3,000 in support of the event, further highlighting the local government’s commitment to the cultural celebration.


The finals, set to take place on May 21 at the Eastwood Valley Golf and Country Club, promises to be a spectacular showcase of cultural beauty and talent.

In the highly anticipated Kumang Iban category, the finalists are Racheal Lorraine Anchum, Pretty Endriana Sedu Asun, Sherene Sarina Jaya, Viviana Uring Joseph, Fenella Natasha Rangka, and Cindy Cloudia Buyong.

The Belawan-Keling category saw fierce competition, with Sebastian Lahang Anthony, Larry Walter Brauh Dian, Randle Rafael, Indra Irawan Hendry, Hakkinen Lewis, and Alexsen Amir Adam advancing to the finals.

For the Dayung Sangon category, the finalists are Delsye Desmond Daie, Eunice James Cook, Hilda Marie Benard Ralphie, Kezia Kirsteen James, Nurlaila Najwa Abdullah, and Nurrul Shazwanie Sandra Zawawi.

In the Keligit Orang Ulu category, the finalists are Audrey Dacklynn Alex, Krissalinda Kisun Yordanus, Grace Suling Belare, Angelynna Aren Garry Hassim, Jessie Ulung Jeffry, and Elvy Ann Hosea.

The champions of each category will be awarded RM3,000 and a scholarship worth RM15,000 from Fajar College.

The first runner-up in each category will receive RM2,500 and a scholarship worth RM10,000, while the second runner-up will take home RM2,000 and a scholarship worth RM7,000.

Additionally, there will be three consolation prizes of RM1,000 and a scholarship worth RM3,000 each, all sponsored by Fajar College. — DayakDaily