Mawan in five-cornered battle in Pakan

From left: Tedong, Brawi, Mawan, Hereward and Jemeli.

Follow and subscribe to DayakDaily on Telegram for faster news updates.

By Adrian Lim

KUCHING, Dec 6: Five candidates are set to battle it out in N47 Pakan during the 12th Sarawak Election on Dec 18.

Pakan incumbent Tan Sri William Mawan Ikom from Gabungan Parti Sarawak (GPS) will be fighting it out with Jemeli Kerah from Parti Bumi Kenyalang (PBK), Hereward Geramong from Parti Sarawak Bersatu (PSB) and two independent candidates namely Tedong Gunda@ Jamal Abdullah and Brawi Angguong.

Election Commission (EC) returning officer Seroj Ludin announced that the five candidates were eligible to contest in the 12th Sarawak Election.

According to information from the EC, there are 11,154 registered voters in Pakan as of Nov 2.

In the 11th Sarawak Election which was held in 2016, Mawan, who contested as a direct Barisan Nasional (BN) candidate won against independent candidate Jawie Jingot and Democratic Action Party’s (DAP) Rinda Juliza Alexander.

Mawan garnered 3,999 votes while Jawie and Rinda received 3,573 votes and 285 votes respectively. — DayakDaily