Mambong: Dr Jerip seeks 5th term as elected rep, 4 candidates want to stop him

From left; Dr Jerip, Sanjan, Chang, Chong and Joshua in a photo-call after the official announcement.

Follow and subscribe to DayakDaily on Telegram for faster news updates.

By Jacob Achoi

SERIAN, Dec 6: Five candidates will be facing off for the N19 Mambong seat in the 12th State Election.

The incumbent Datuk Dr Jerip Susil, who is into his fifth term as an elected representative is defending the seat for Gabungan Parti Sarawak (GPS).

The other candidates are Sanjan Daik from Parti Sarawak Bersatu (PSB), Chang Hon Hiung of Democratic Action Party (DAP), Joshua@Katok Raman from Parti Bumi Kenyalang (PBK) and Chong Siew Hung from Sarawak People’s Aspiration Party (Aspirasi).

The candidates were announced by returning officer Ranum Bari at the Siburan District Office, the venue of the nomination.

Dr Jerip was accompanied by Parti Pesaka Bumiputera Bersatu (PBB) Mambong branch acting chairman Datuk Detta Samen, who was his proposer and Waddel Boyod, his seconder.

Puncak Borneo MP Datuk Willie Mongin who is also the Deputy Minister of Plantation Industries and Commodities was also present.

Willie later told reporters that he is giving Dr Jerip his full support and urged voters in the area to support Dr Jerip as the GPS candidate.

“Voters need to give him (Dr Jerip) full support to bring more development into the area.

“What is equally important is that the State must continue to have GPS as the government for continuity of the development agenda and for good and strong relationships with the federal government,” Willie said.

He pointed out that Dr Jerip has done much to develop the area, although there is still plenty left to be done.

Dr Jerip said the five-cornered fight for Mambong indicated that democracy is progressive and vibrant.

He hoped that his opponents will raise issues to further develop the area.

He also said PSB candidate Sanjan who is contesting against him for the third time is still his friend.

For the record, Dr Jerip won Mambong in the 2016 State election by a 3,333 vote-majority. — DayakDaily