Longhouse clusters emerge in Sungai Ranan Kanowit with 32 cases, Nangga Tajam Selangau with 34 cases

Several longhouses have been placed under lockdown as Covid-19 cases flare in rural areas. File Photo

Follow and subscribe to DayakDaily on Telegram for faster news updates.

KUCHING, April 30: New clusters of Covid-19 infections have emerged in two longhouses in Kanowit, which have been dubbed the Sungai Ranan Cluster with 32 positive cases and one longhouse in Selangau named the Nangga Tajam Cluster with 34 positive cases.

They are the two out of four new Covid-19 clusters declared in Sarawak today. The other two clusters were identified in Miri dubbed Jalan Agama Cluster linked to a tuition centre with 38 cases and Air Padang Cluster involving a government agency with 19 cases.

The State Disaster Management Committee (SDMC), in its daily update report on the Covid-19 situation, informed that the Sungai Ranan Cluster in Kanowit is a community cluster involving two longhouses in Sungai Ranan.

The index case or case 19,477 was detected from symptomatic screening in Kanowit Hospital.

Active case detection (ACD) operation and screening on family members as well as workplace contacts and targeted screening in the longhouses uncovered 31 more cases.

As of today, SDMC reported that 191 individuals have been screened, whereby 109 tested negative while 50 are still awaiting lab tests results.

As for the Nangga Tajam Cluster in Selangau, SDMC disclosed that the community cluster involved a longhouse in Nangga Tajam with the index case or Case 26,347 also detected from symptomatic screening in Sibu Hospital on April 26.

ACD operation carried out among family members and social contacts have resulted in 33 more cases.

As of today, a total of 104 individuals have been screened, whereby 70 tested negative while no results are pending.

With four new clusters, Sarawak now has 75 active clusters, out of which 12 clusters recorded an increase in daily infections with a total of 57 cases today.

The clusters are Abak Bon which picked up 15 more cases, Taman Mesra Bako (9 cases), Sileng Dayak (6 cases), Sungai Gemuan, Jalan Disa and Jalan Roban Lama (5 cases each), Melugu (4 cases), Sungai Tuah (2 cases), Jalan Selirik (3 cases), while Putai, Rayang and Sungai Ngungun has one case each. — DayakDaily