Kuching records 4 new Covid-19 village clusters contributing 92 of 311 cases in district


KUCHING, July 29: Four of five new Covid-19 clusters declared in Sarawak today are in Kuching with a total of 92 positive cases detected involving villages at Jalan Landeh, Jalan Kampung Quap, Jalan Kampung Senari and Jalan Kampung Telaga Air.

The State Disaster Management Committee (SDMC) in its daily update on the Covid-19 situation in Sarawak, disclosed that the four clusters comprised the Kampung Paya Mebi Cluster, Kampung Quop Cluster, Kampung Senari Cluster and Telaga Air Cluster.

The Kampung Paya Mebi Cluster has 21 positive cases involving residents of a village at Jalan Landeh.

A total of 29 individuals linked to the cluster has been screened whereby eight have tested negative. There are no test results pending.

The Kampung Quop Cluster which has 12 cases so far involves residents of several private residences at Jalan Kampung Quap at 10th Mile in Kota Padawan here.

A total of 19 individuals have been screened, whereby seven tested negative. There are no test results pending.

The Kampung Senari Cluster has accumulated 25 cases with one new case confirmed today. It involves the residents of a village at Jalan Kampung Senari, Jalan Bako here.

A total of 64 individuals have been screened, whereby 39 are still awaiting lab test results.

The Telaga Air Cluster which has 34 confirmed cases so far involves the residents of several private residences at Jalan Kampung Telaga Air in Petra Jaya here.

A total of 35 individuals have been screened with only one testing negative. No test results were pending.

All of the positive cases are being treated and isolated at Sarawak General Hospital (SGH) and the Quarantine and Low-Risk Treatment Centre (PKRC) in Kuching.

Apart from the four clusters in Kuching, a new workplace cluster dubbed the Sungai Mangga Cluster was declared in Simunjan, with 55 confirmed cases so far.

SDMC also declared the end of five clusters, namely the Putai Cluster in Bukit Mabong; Kampung Tabuan Haji Drahman, Iris Garden and Kampung Taba Sait clusters, all in Kuching; and the Lorong Perlis Empat Cluster in Miri, after no new local cases were detected in the past 28 days.

With this, the number of active clusters in Sarawak is now 78, out of which seven clusters recorded an increase in daily infections totalling 65 cases.

They are the newly declared Sungai Mangga Cluster in Simunjan which added 53 more cases, Jalan Demak Laut Cluster in Kuching (5 cases), Duyoh Cluster in Bau (2 cases), Jalan Tatau-Selangau Cluster in Tatau (2 cases), while the Jalan Sungai Tapang Cluster in Kuching, Mongkos 2 Cluster in Tebedu and new Kampung Senari Cluster in Kuching registered one case each. — DayakDaily