Incumbent Aaron retains Kanowit for fifth term with narrow margin

Aaron Ago Dagang (file photo).

Follow and subscribe to DayakDaily on Telegram for faster news updates.

By Karen Bong

KUCHING, Nov 19: Datuk Aaron Ago Dagang has retained P210 Kanowit for Gabungan Parti Sarawak (GPS) with a slim margin in the five-cornered tussle, the most crowded affair, in this 15th General Election (GE15).

In a close race between GPS and Pakatan Harapan (PH), Aaron polled 7,411 votes against Joseph Nyambong who obtained 7,175 votes to secure his fifth term with a 236 votes majority.

Meanwhile, the three Independent candidates Dr Elli Luhat, George Chen and Michael Lias only obtained a total of 3,457 votes.

There are a total of 30,988 registered voters in the constituency which has doubled from 2018 with 21,022.

However, from this election’s results, there has been a drop in the share of voters for Aaron.

In the 2018 general election, Aaron won the seat in a straight fight with a 4,312 majority.

He polled 9,552 votes against PH’s Satu Anchom, who obtained 5,240 votes.

Kanowit, largely a Dayak-majority area, has two State constituencies, Ngemah and Machan, which are both under GPS. — DayakDaily