GPS-SUPP’s Dr Sim to face off against DAP’s Dr Yii, Aspirasi’s Fong and Chai from PBK in Batu Kawah

A four-way battle in Batu Kawah with (from right) Fong, Dr Sim, Chai and Dr Yii.

Follow and subscribe to DayakDaily on Telegram for faster news updates.

By Karen Bong

KUCHING, Dec 6: Sarawak United Peoples’ Party (SUPP) president Dato Sri Dr Sim Kui Hian is facing a four-cornered fight for the N14 Batu Kawah seat in the 12th Sarawak Election as he seeks a second term as its representative.

The incumbent is being challenged by Bandar Kuching MP Dr Kelvin Yii of Democratic Action Party (DAP), former Pujut assemblyman Fong Pau Teck of Sarawak People’s Aspiration Party (Aspirasi) and Chai Kueh Khun of Parti Bumi Kenyalang (PBK).

This was announced by the Election Commission (EC) returning officer Ita Ling at the nomination centre at Padawan Municipal Council (MPP) here today, after all nomination forms were submitted and accepted.

Unlike in previous elections, today’s nomination process was relatively quiet which saw no processions or supporters accompanying candidates to the nomination centre, as all quarters complied with the election’s standard operating procedures (SOP) put in place to curb the Covid-19 pandemic.

Police officers monitoring the situation at Batu Kawah nomination centre at MPP.

Police and EC officers cordoned off the entry into the MPP Complex which is also the nomination centre for Batu Kawah constituency.

Strict checks were conducted by officers at the entrance to the complex’s compound with only relevant contesting parties and media practitioners allowed in after checking in with MySejahtera and recording their body temperature.

In the 11th Sarawak Election under the then State Barisan Nasional (BN) government led by the late Pehin Sri Adenan Satem, Dr Sim wrested the Batu Kawah seat from DAP after defeating incumbent Christina Chiew and independent candidate Liu Thian Leong.

He polled 6,414 votes to win by a majority of 2,085 votes. Chiew garnered 4,329 votes while Liu had 1,109 votes.

The EC has set Dec 18 for polling and early voting on Dec 14. Campaigning will stretch for 12 days, from today (Dec 6) to Dec 17.

The Batu Kawah constituency comprised the polling districts of RPR Batu Kawah, Kawah, Stapok, Sin San Tu and Kim Chu Shin. — DayakDaily