GPS pushes for 4 new DUS seats within Kanowit, Kapit, Hulu Rajang parliamentary constituencies

Dato Sri Alexander Nanta Linggi (file photo)

By DayakDaily Team

KAPIT, May 14: Gabungan Parti Sarawak (GPS) is pushing for four new Sarawak Legislative Assembly (DUS) seats, says the coalition’s secretary-general, Dato Sri Alexander Nanta Linggi.

In a news report published by New Straits Times yesterday (May 13), Nanta says the proposal follows the Sarawak government’s decision to consider reviewing the DUS seats this year.


He said that GPS representatives had discussed the matter of seeking approval to establish new seats.

The Kapit MP added that the proposed new seats would be within the Kanowit, Kapit, and Hulu Rajang parliamentary constituencies.

“We have discussed with all GPS party representatives in this area. We have done this several times and agreed to the proposal to establish new [DUS] seats.

“We propose approximately four (new seats). It is up to the Election Commission (EC) later.

“(The proposal) includes areas in the Kanowit parliamentary constituency, Kapit parliamentary constituency, and Ulu Rajang parliamentary constituency. These areas are large, hence the proposal for four [DUS] seats.

“It’s not just in Kapit. I have to clarify this,” said the Works Minister after attending a longhouse opening ceremony, as quoted by New Straits Times.

On May 11, the redelineation exercise to add parliamentary seats in Sarawak was among the key topics discussed during a GPS Supreme Council meeting at the Parti Pesaka Bumiputera Bersatu (PBB) headquarters on Jalan Bako.

For context, Sarawak is due for a review on the redelineation of electoral boundaries in view of the minimum eight-year interval from the last review and delineation exercise, which was conducted in 2015.

Previously, it was reported that Sarawak is projected to gain 12 new seats once the redelineation process is completed.

It is also hoped that the exercise would increase the number of parliamentary seats in Sarawak to close the gap and bring Sarawak closer to slightly more than one-third of the number of parliamentary seats in the Dewan Rakyat as enshrined under Malaysia Agreement 1963 (MA63).

To date, Sarawak has 31 parliamentary seats, whereas Sabah has 25 seats, making up only 25 per cent of the total 222 seats in the Parliament.

The remaining 75 per cent of 166 seats are held by Peninsular Malaysia. — DayakDaily