GPS considering keeping 5 Miri incumbents for 12th Sarawak Election

The five Miri incumbents - (clockwise from left) Rosey, Dr Penguang, Lee, Ripin and Ting.

MIRI, Nov 25: Gabungan Parti Sarawak (GPS) will seriously consider retaining the five incumbents in the constituencies of Lambir, Bekenu, Senadin, Piasau and Marudi to defend their seats in the 12th Sarawak Election, which is set to take place on Dec 18.

Chief Minister Datuk Patinggi Tan Sri Abang Johari Tun Openg hinted this, saying the GPS Team in Miri has been performing well and have worked hard to serve the people and their respective areas.

“For sure, we will consider retaining them (for the coming State elections),” he told reporters when met after the Leaders With The People dinner gathering at a hotel here last night.


The five incumbents are Ripin Lamat (Lambir), Datuk Rosey Yunus (Bekenu), Dato Sri Lee Kim Shin (Senadin), Datuk Sebastian Ting (Piasau) and Datuk Dr Penguang Manggil (Marudi).

Earlier when addressing the function, the GPS chairman emphasised that he is not working alone but all GPS elected representatives have worked together as one team.

“If the five incumbents continue to work hard, hopefully GPS will retain the five seats so that the team could assist me in the larger team in GPS.

“It is Team GPS, and I am only the captain,” he added.

As for the fate of the two other incumbents in Miri division, namely Telang Usan and Mulu, Abang Johari told reporters to “wait and see” after his visit to Mulu today. — DayakDaily