Foreign travellers to countries with high Covid-19 incidences to be refused entry to Sarawak

Covid-19 file pic

KUCHING, March 11: Foreign travellers who have been to Mainland China, South Korea, Italy and Iran in the past 14 days will be refused entry into Sarawak.

The State Disaster Management Committee in its latest statement today disclosed that these immigration policies were being enforced to ensure Sarawak remains free of Covid-19.

“All Malaysians, who are non-resident of Sarawak, who have been to China, South Korea, Italy and Iran in the last 14 days are strongly advised not to visit Sarawak.

“All Sarawakians and Sarawakian PR, work and student pass holders who have been to the above mentioned countries in the last 14 days must undergo compulsory home quarantine for 14 days. They will be subjected to random monitoring by the Medical Authority.”

Meanwhile, all visitors from Covid-19 affected countries and regions such as France, Spain, Germany, the United States, Japan, Singapore, Indonesia, Brunei Darussalam and Peninsula Malaysia are urged to adhere to precautionary guidelines issued by the Sarawak Health Department at all points of entry.

Since the Covid-19 outbreak, there has been no known infection in Sarawak and as such the above actions are part of the Sarawak government’s measures to mitigate the spread of the disease into Sarawak. —DayakDaily