Five candidates to face off in Batu Lintang

Returning officer Zuraidah Idris (fourth left) announcing the confirmed candidates for N11 Batu Lintang today (Dec 6, 2021). From right: Ng (PKR), Leong (Aspirasi), Sih (GPS-SUPP), See (PSB), and Voon (PBK).

Follow and subscribe to DayakDaily on Telegram for faster news updates.

By Christopher Lidom

KUCHING, Dec 6: N11 Batu Lintang constituency will see a five-cornered fight between Parti Sarawak Bersatu (PSB), Parti Bumi Kenyalang (PBK), Sarawak People’s Aspiration Party (Aspirasi), Gabungan Parti Sarawak (GPS), and Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR).

This was confirmed by the N11 Batu Lintang returning officer Zuraidah Idris, at the candidate nomination centre in the Kuching South City Council (MBKS) lobby today.

Batu Lintang incumbent See Chee How will be defending his seat under the PSB banner against Sih Hua Tong from GPS, Leong Shaow Tung from Aspirasi, Cherishe Ng Phuay Hui from PKR, and Voon lee Shan from PBK.

See had previously served as Batu Lintang assemblyman for two terms under Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR) before he was sacked from the party in mid-April 2020.

He was announced as a PBS member by party president Dato Sri Wong Soon Koh on May 29, 2020.

First to arrived at the nomination centre today were Aspirasi candidate Leong and his entourage at 8.20am, followed by PKR candidate Ng at 8.30am.

Later on, PBK president Voon arrived at the nomination centre at 8.40am, followed by See at 8.52am, and the last to arrive was GPS-Sarawak United Peoples’ Party (GPS-SUPP) candidate Sih at 8.55am. — DayakDaily