Factory, longhouse clusters in Tatau report 17 cases, 118 awaiting results

By Ling Hui

KUCHING, July 30: A factory cluster at Kemena Land District (Kinda), Tanjung Kidurong and a longhouse cluster at Jalan Sangan, Sungai Sangan are the two new Covid-19 clusters in Tatau today.

According to the reports by State Disaster Management Committee (SDMC), the Kinda KM 18 Cluster registered 10 positive cases and the Sungai Sangan Cluster seven cases so far.

“For Kinda KM 18 Cluster, 85 individuals were screened where 10 tested positive including the index case and another 75 samples remain unknown.

“The 10 positive cases were reported today,” said the SDMC’s statement on Covid-19 updates today.

As for the Sungai Sangan Cluster, 50 individuals were swabbed where seven returned positive results and 43 are awaiting laboratory test results. Of the seven positive cases, six were recorded today.

SDMC also noted that both the longhouse and factory were placed under Enhanced Movement Control Order (EMCO) when there were signs of Covid-19 cases cumulating.

The committee assured that all related Covid-19 patients have been admitted into the Bintulu Hospital and Bintulu Low-risk Treatment and Quarantine Centre (PKRC).

Meanwhile, Sarawak reported seven other new clusters in Bau (1), Serian (4), Saratok (1) and Samarahan (1) for the day.

They are the Bunga Rampai Cluster in Bau; Kampung Paon Rimu, Melikin, Kerina and Kampung Sungai Duuh Clusters in Serian; Peligong Cluster in Saratok and Tanjung Tuang Cluster in Samarahan, with six categorised as community clusters and one a workplace cluster.

At the same time, three clusters, namely the Muara Tabuan, Jalan Renggas Clusters in Kuching and Sungai Gamong in Meradong were announced to be expired today.

Thus, Sarawak is with 84 active clusters as of today. — DayakDaily