Dr M to be sworn in as PM at 9.30pm

Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad

KUCHING, May 10: His Majesty The Yang di-Pertuan Agong XV Sultan Muhammad V will swear Pakatan Harapan chairman Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad in as the seventh Prime Minister of Malaysia at 9.30pm tonight.

A statement issued by the Comptroller of the Royal Household of Istana Negara, Dato Wan Ahamd Dahlan Ab Aziz, said the Istana Negara expressed the consent of His Majesty to swear in Dr Mahathir.

His Majesty after verifying the documents, met with Parti Keadilan Rakyat president Datuk Seri Wan Azizah Wan Ismail, Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia president Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin, Democratic Action Party secretary-general Lim Guan Eng and Parti Amanah Negara president Mohamad Sabu at 5pm at Istana Negara today.

“His Majesty after having interviewed them and listened to their views, decided to invite Tun Dr Mahathir to form the next Federal Government pursuant to Article 43 (2a) of the Federal Constitution.

“His Majesty then consented to swear Tun Dr Mahathir in as Prime Minister as 9.30pm today,” said the statement.

The Istana Negara strongly refuted any allegation that His Majesty is delaying the appointment of Dr Mahathir as prime minister.

“His Majesty the King has faithfully carried out his duties and functions in accordance with the Federal Constitution in appointing Tun Dr Mahathir as Prime Minister.

“His Majesty the King strongly supports and respects the democratic process and the wishes of his subjects,” said the statement. — DayakDaily