Dr Jawing Chunggat new Sarawak Dayak Graduates Association president

Sarawak Dayak Graduates Association (SDGA) logo

KUCHING, March 28: Dr Jawing Chunggat has been elected the new president of the Sarawak Dayak Graduates Association (SDGA) for the term 2023 to 2025, taking over from Gary Ningkan.

The biennial election was held during SDGA’s annual general meeting (AGM) at Pullman Hotel on March 25.

According to a media release issued by SDGA today, Dr Jawing will be supported by deputy president Dr Florianna Lendai Michael, and three vice presidents, namely Dr Joshua Bakir Nuing (Iban), Sabestiano Mike Atet (Bidayuh) and Gilbert Thomas Laing Jok (Orang Ulu).


Others include Jordan Anthony Layan as the new secretary general, Darrell Nadeng Dominic (assistant secretary general), Rudy Ujang (treasurer general), Jordie Jara Julian (assistant treasurer general) and nine executive committee members.

The key point in Dr Jawing’s speech is aligned to the theme set for the new term and that is “SDGA #KeepMoving” based on strategic pillars of Education & Knowledge Sharing, Skills Development, Networking & Community, Entrepreneurship & Financial Literacy, and Digital Literacy.

“The meeting also unanimously agreed that life membership registration fee for Dayak graduates below 40-years-old will continue to be waived for the term 2023-2025.

“This is to encourage as many young Dayak graduates as possible to be registered with the association and contribute to the community,” he stated. — DayakDaily