Dennis Tan to helm Kuching Bicycle and Motor Trader Association

Tan (seated seventh right) in a group photo with the new committee members of Kuching Bicycle and Motor Trader Association 2023-2025 term during a meeting at Hon Ang Restaurant, Kuching on April 4, 2023.

KUCHING, April 8: Dennis Tan Hock Beng of Huat Bing Motors Sdn Bhd has been elected as the new chairman of the Kuching Bicycle and Motor Trader Association, taking over from his predecessor, Lau Soon Yuin.

According to a media release issued today, Tan, who was previously the association’s deputy chairman, would now lead the committee for a new term from 2023 to 2025.

The election was held during the association’s new committee meeting at Hon Ang Restaurant on April 4.

Tan will be supported by deputy chairman Aaron Tay Kok Tung of Tay Motors Sdn Bhd and three vice chairmen, namely Lu Yew Hong (Ghee Yong Enterprise Sdn Bhd), Law Kin Hin (Ghee Hwa Motorpol Sdn Bhd) and Bon Nyuk Chin (Welson Trading Company).

Others include Soon Ngiap Motor Co’s Lu Mung Hua as the new supervisory chairman, Hock Tai Hin Motor Company’s Ho Mong Hin (vice supervisory chairman), Ghee Hoe Chan Motor Company’s Ng Siaw Shion (secretary), Soon Kiong Huat Enterprise’s Albert Tan Boon Chieh (assistant secretary), Borneo Wei Chiang Sdn Bhd’s Ling Choon Huang (treasurer), HKB Motor Sdn Bhd’s Ho Kok Boo (assistant treasurer), Ghee Leong Hin Motor Sdn Bhd’S Law Kim Soon (general affairs officer), Ho Hin Motor Sdn Bhd’s Willson Tay (assistant public affairs officer), Kin Hui Motor’s Tay Kin Hui (welfare officer), GH Motor World Sdn Bhd’s Benjamin Lau Yu Huat (assistant welfare officer), Ngee Huat Hin Sdn Bhd’s Chua Wee Chiang (publicity officer), B.H.S Motor Co’s Tan Kian Seng (assistant publicity officer), Ban Bua Motor’s Tan Kian Hui (education officer), Ban Bua Motor’s Connie Chew Oi Lian (assistant education officer), Sing Kuong Hing Trading Company’s Tiong Soon Sing (recreation officer), Wui Min Motor Servis’s Kuan Han Wui (assistant recreation officer), Wang Deng Motor Company’s Ivan Liew (committee member), Chin Hin Motor’s Tan Ban Hua (committee member) as well as Hap Sheng (TK) Motor Sdn Bhd’s Jessie Liu Hui Ping and Ban Hap Leong Co’s Tan Kian Hin as auditors.

During the meeting, the association has also set up its youth and women’s groups chaired by Owen Bon and Maggie Yong, respectively, who will assist in the association’s affairs and also help to cultivate future successors for the association.

Tan, in his speech, announced that the association would hold its 67th-anniversary celebration and the new committee’s inauguration banquet at the Petanak Grand Riverine ballroom in Kuching on May 20 (Saturday).

The event’s organising committee would be led by the new vice chairman, Bon Nyuk Chin.

For the upcoming event, the association will invite members of the Malaysian Motorcycle and Scooter Dealers Association and 15 other motorcycle associations to participate in the celebration.

Apart from the feast, the event would feature a swearing-in ceremony for the new committee members, a cake-cutting ceremony for the celebration, singing and dancing performances, and a lucky draw.

It is estimated that there will be 60 tables at the banquet, each costing RM800.

Members who intend to purchase meal coupons should contact the ticketing personnel Ling Choon Huang (017-8100536) and deputy ticketing personnel Ho Kok Boo (012-8873000) as soon as possible to secure a seat. — DayakDaily