Dayak Youth Sports Icon Award 2024 honours Pandelela, Kilat Boy, para-athletes Bonnie, Angeline

Anwar(fourth right), Abang Johari (fourth left), Uggah (third right), Sagah (third left), Pandelela (second left), Daeloniel (left), Angeline (second right), and others during the Dayak Youth Sports Icon Award 2024

By Chris Bishop

KUCHING, June 23: Four athletes received the Dayak Youth Sports Icon Award 2024, presented by Prime Minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim last night (June 22).

The awards were presented at the Sarawak Gawai Dayak 2024 gala dinner at the Borneo Convention Centre Kuching (BCCK), which the Sarawak Premier Datuk Patinggi Tan Sri Abang Johari Tun Openg also attended.


The four recipients are National Diving Queen Datuk Padelela Rinong for the Sportswoman category and boxing champion ‘Kilat Boy’ Daeloniel McDelon Bong for the Sportsman category.

Meanwhile, the Para Sportsman category was awarded to the country’s powerlifting champion, Bonnie Bunyau Gustin, whereas boccia athlete Angeline Melissa Lawas clinched the Para Sportswoman award.

Also present for the award presentation were Deputy Premier Datuk Amar Douglas Uggah Embas and Sarawak Minister of Education, Innovation, and Talent Development (MEITD) Dato Sri Roland Sagah Wee Inn.

The Dayak Youth Sports Icon Award is in recognition of those who have succeeded in promoting the name of Malaysia, particularly Sarawak, on the international sports scene. — DayakDaily