Covid-19: Taman Putrajaya cluster changes name to Putra cluster


By Adrian Lim

KUCHING, Oct 11: The State Health Department announced that the Taman Putrajaya cluster for Covid-19 in Bintulu which was identified yesterday has its name changed to Putra cluster.

The department explained that the change of name is to avoid confusion of the name Putrajaya by the public as the name Putrajaya referred to the administrative capital of the country in the Federal Territory of Putrajaya.

It added that the change of name was also to streamline data and information collection between the State Disaster Management Committee (SDMC) and the Ministry of Health’s Crisis Preparedness Response Centre (CPRC).

Hence, the State Health Department pointed out that the new cluster in Bintulu will use the name of Putra cluster as announced by Health Ministry’s director-general Tan Sri Dr Noor Hisham Abdullah during a press conference yesterday.

In the meantime, SDMC said there were two Covid-19 clusters which are active in Sarawak.

They are the “Bah Arnab” cluster in Kuching and the Putra cluster in Bintulu. —DayakDaily