Covid-19: Red zone alert in Beluru as Betong turns yellow

Uggah giving updates on the Covid-19 situation in Sarawak at the press conference.

By Ling Hui

KUCHING, Jan 18: Following Beluru being declared a Covid-19 red zone today, there are now four Covid-19 red zones in Sarawak.

State Disaster Management Committee (SDMC) chairman Datuk Amar Douglas Uggah Embas said Beluru is now a Covid-19 red zone after a total of 42 local cases were detected over the past 14 days.

“Betong has also been converted from green to yellow after reporting seven local transmission cases in the past 14 days.

“Kuching, Sibu and Miri remain as red zones with a total of 756 local cases in the past same period of time,” he stated in the press conference on Covid-19 update today.

Sebauh is the only Covid-19 orange zone in the state with 24 local cases, and no new cases reported today.

Meanwhile, Meradong, Julau, Kapit, Simunjan, Asajaya, Kanowit, Lubok Antu, Sarikei, Limbang, Dalat, Selangau, Samarahan, Sri Aman, Bukit Mabong and Bintulu are still yellow zones with a total of 60 local cases.

The other 19 districts in Sarawak remain as Covid-19 green zones.

Seven clusters remain active in the state. They are the Bukit Sekubong Cluster in Sebauh, Jelita and Bah Sayap Clusters in Miri, Pasai Cluster in Sibu, Keranji Tabuan and Stutong Clusters in Kuching, and lastly Mador Cluster in Meradong. — DayakDaily