Covid-19 in Sarawak: 9 districts report zero cases, remaining 31 record 581 cases

Brief Covid-19 statistics for Sarawak as of June 24, 2021.

By Ling Hui

KUCHING, June 24: Only nine out of 40 districts in Sarawak reported zero Covid-19 cases today, while the remaining 31 registered a total of 581 new cases over a 24-hour period.

The nine districts were Tanjung Manis, Pakan, Lubok Antu, Beluru, Limbang, Pusa, Belaga, Lawas and Daro.

In a statement, the State Disaster Management Committee (SDMC) said Sibu had the highest number of new cases with 85, followed by Sri Aman (63), Kuching (58), Tatau (49) and Bintulu (46) which altogether recorded 301 or 51.81 per cent of the total number of new cases reported today.

Other districts with new infections were Miri (39), Saratok (26), Meradong (24), Mukah (20), Asajaya (20), Kanowit (19), Tebedu (17), Lundu (16), Kapit (16), Samarahan (13), Sarikei (11), Matu (10), Bau (8), Telang Usan (7), Song (7), Kabong (5), Julau (4), Sebauh (3), Serian (3), Marudi (3), Bukit Mabong (3), Betong (2), Simunjan (1), Selangau (1) Subis (1) and Dalat (1).

With that, the committee said the cumulative number of Covid-19 cases in Sarawak since the outbreak began in March 2020 now stands at 62,147.

“Out of the 581 patients today, 351 were detected following close contact screenings where 15 of them were symptomatic.

“Another 150 cases were from individual screenings from active clusters where none showed signs and symptoms of Covid-19 infection.

“Adding on, there were 42 cases that were from other screenings from health facilities, 34 cases were from symptomatic screenings in health facilities, three were Import-B cases who returned from other states in Malaysia, and one was an Import-A case who returned from Indonesia,” it said in its daily statement giving Covid-19 update today.

Meanwhile, SDMC also reported zero deaths from Covid-19 today, and thus the death toll remains at 392.

Sarawak now has 29 Covid-19 red zones, four orange zones, six yellow zones and one green zone. Daro is the only green zone in Sarawak. — DayakDaily