Construction company in Betong yields 23 Covid-19 cases from workers’ quarters

File photo for illustration purposes. Photo credit: Pixabay

Follow and subscribe to DayakDaily on Telegram for faster news updates.

KUCHING, Aug 27: The workers’ quarters of a construction company located at KM20 Jalan Betong is the latest workplace cluster identified in Sarawak with 23 positive Covid-19 cases confirmed so far.

The State Disaster Management Committee (SDMC), in its daily update on the Covid-19 situation in Sarawak, reported that of the total cases linked to the newly declared KM20 Jalan Betong Cluster in Betong, 12 cases were detected today.

A total of 55 individuals have been screened, whereby five have tested negative while 27 are still awaiting lab test results.

All cases have been admitted to the hospital as well as the Quarantine and Low-Risk Treatment Centre (PKRC) Betong for treatment and isolation.

The KM20 Jalan Betong Cluster is one of eight new clusters declared in Sarawak today.

The seven other clusters are identified in Subis (Jero Gelasah Cluster with 15 cases), in Miri (Ladang 0004 Kuala Baram Cluster with 31 cases), in Lubok Antu (Nanga Bengap Cluster with 42 cases), in Kanowit (Nanga Dap Cluster with 29 cases), in Tebedu (Mapu Cluster with 43 cases); while two in Serian (Mundai Cluster with 66 cases and Duras Cluster with 60 cases).
SDMC also declared the end of Sungai Sebatu Cluster in Meradong, after no local cases were reported in the last 28 days.

With that, the number of active clusters in Sarawak have increased to 126, out of which 25 clusters registered an increase in daily infections with a total of 269 cases contributed to the daily caseload of 2,224 today.

They are Kampung Sungai Duuh Cluster which added 39 more cases; new Ladang 0004 Kuala Baram Cluster and Ladang Nanga Bengap Cluster (31 cases each); Bungey 2 Cluster (29 cases); Long Urun Cluster (24 cases); new Nanga Dap Cluster (22 cases); Kampung Muara Tebas 2 Cluster (15 cases); new KM20 Jalan Betong Cluster and Jero Gelasah Cluster (12 cases each); Lorong Cahaya Damai Cluster (11 cases); Lubok Bukut Clyster (9 cases); Mas Sawai Cluster (7 cases); Lorong Temenggung Haji Gobil Cluster (5 cases); new Duras Cluster (4 cases); and Kampung Haji Baki Cluster (3 cases).

Opar Cluster, Sungai Menok Cluster, Plaman Batang Cluster, new Mundai Cluster, new Mapu Cluster have two cases each; while Nanga Pelugau Cluster, Kampung Pulo Ulu Cluster, Taman Indah Landeh Cluster, Kampung Goebilt Cluster and Nansang Tugong Cluster have one case each. — DayakDaily