Community leaders fully support re-nomination of Ngemah incumbent Alexander Vincent

Alexander (seated centre) in a group photo with Ngemah community leaders.

KUCHING, Nov 19: Ngemah village headmen and longhouse chieftains fully support the nomination of Ngemah incumbent Alexander Vincent to contest in the constituency once more in the coming 12th Sarawak Election (PRN12).

Alexander was elected as an assemblyman in the 10th Sarawak Election (PRN10) and has served the Ngemah constituency for two terms under Parti Rakyat Sarawak (PRS), a coalition party of the now Gabungan Parti Sarawak (GPS).

He first won the seat in 2011 with 2,361 votes, following a five-corner fight.

With a majority of 995 votes, he defeated Gabriel Adit Demong of Parti Cinta Malaysia (PCM), Aris Alap of Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR), Micheal Lias of Sarawak National Party (SNAP), and independent Yakup Khalid.

He defended the seat in 2016’s Sarawak Election against three other opponents by garnering 2,888 votes and a majority of 154 votes.

It was a close call against independent Joseph Jawa Kendawang while triumphing over PKR’s Thomas Laja Besi and Democratic Action Party (DAP)’s Richard Lias. — DayakDaily